2023 EEAC Small Contractor Councilor Election

The Massachusetts Energy Efficiency Advisory Council (EEAC) oversees the development and implementation of the Statewide Three-Year Energy Efficiency Investment Plans, known as Mass Save.® The plans, which are developed in coordination with the state’s electric and natural gas utilities, detail the Commonwealth’s energy efficiency programs, which have led to billions of dollars in energy reduction and economic benefits to Massachusetts residents and businesses since the enactment of the Green Communities Act in 2008.

Among the 15 members of the EEAC is one representative of small energy efficiency contractor businesses. This energy efficiency business must be located in Massachusetts and employ fewer than 10 employees. By law, this representative is elected every five years by a “majority of contractors performing energy efficiency services under Mass Save.” Contractors are invited to participate in this year’s election, as detailed below. Voting will be open from 12pm on Thursday, February 2 until 5pm on Tuesday, February 14.

Any business currently working on at least one Mass Save project will be eligible to vote in the election to fill the small contractor seat on the EEAC, but each business will have one vote regardless of its size. The election will be conducted via online poll.



For more information on the EEAC, you can visit the Council’s website or email

Composition of the EEAC

In accordance with its by-law, the Council includes representatives from organizations and interests that are named in the enabling legislation. Council members are appointed to five-year terms by the Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities (DPU) with the exception of the energy efficiency small business representative, who is elected by his or her peers. The Council is chaired by the Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources (DOER) Commissioner. DOER staff provides support to the Council.

Current EEAC members, voting and non-voting, represent a wide array of organizations and interests.

Voting Members

As of March 2023

Mary Wambui
Planning Officer for Urban Affairs

Representing Residential Consumers

Elliott Jacobson
Low‐Income Energy Affordability Network

Representing Low Income Weatherization & Fuel Assistance Network

Amy Boyd
Acadia Center

Representing Environmental Community

Dennis Villanueva
Mass General Brigham

Representing Businesses and Large Commercial & Industrial End Users

Robert Rio
Associated Industries of Massachusetts

Representing Manufacturing Industry

Deirdre Manning
Massachusetts Convention Center Authority

Representing Energy Efficiency Experts

Charlie Harak
Local 369 of the Utility Worker Union of American

Representing Organized Labor

Martin Suuberg / DESIGNEE: Sharon Weber
Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection

Representing Environmental Protection

Maura Healey / DESIGNEE: Jo Ann Bodemer
Massachusetts Office of the Attorney General

Representing Attorney General

Jennifer D. Maddox / DESIGNEE: Greg Abbe
Massachusetts Department of Housing and Community Development

Representing Housing and Community Development

Elizabeth Mahony / DESIGNEE: Maggie McCarey
Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources

EEAC Chairperson

Paul Johnson

Representing Energy Efficiency Small Businesses

Brooks Winner
Metropolitan Area Planning Council

Representing Commonwealth Cities and Towns

Jonathan Schreiber
The Massachusetts Association of Realtors®

Representing Massachusetts Realtors

Meg Lusardi

Representing Massachusetts Non‐Profits

Non-Voting Members

As of June 2022

Paul Gromer
Peregrine Energy

Representing Energy Efficiency Businesses

Michael Ferrante
Massachusetts Energy Marketers Association

Representing Heating Oil Industry

Tim Costa
ISO New England

Representing Regional Electric Transmission Organization

Maggie Downey
Cape Light Compact

Representing Utility Energy Efficiency Program Administrator

Tilak Subrahmanian / DESIGNEE: Kate Peters

Representing Utility Energy Efficiency Program Administrator

Chris Porter
National Grid

Representing Utility Energy Efficiency Program Administrator

Cindy Carroll

Representing Utility Energy Efficiency Program Administrator

Hammad Chaudhry
Berkshire Gas

Representing Utility Energy Efficiency Program Administrator

Stephanie Terach
Liberty Utilities

Representing Utility Energy Efficiency Program Administrator